Foxfields Academy is part of C.I.T Academies
0116 344 0343

Upper School

Foxfields Academy

Upper School Curriculum

Year 8
Pupils in year 8 are taught in a primary classroom model where they stay in one classroom but are taught by Subject Teachers. The Year 8 curriculum has been tailored in order to meet the needs of all pupils following the formal requirements of the National Curriculum. The curriculum is designed to ensure that our pupils progress well from the Lower School Curriculum. Therefore, providing a sequential build-up of knowledge in preparation for the 14-16 curriculum and pupils selecting their personalised timetables based on their options. The Year 8 curriculum consists of all core and non-core subjects ensuring pupils have access to a broad and balanced curriculum.

14- 16 Curriculum (Year 9-11)
The 14-16 curriculum is designed to be flexible enough to meet the individual needs of all learners. We ensure this is carried out by the following:
The curriculum is person centred in that all pupils have a bespoke timetable and are offered considerable choice during the planning stage. A range of qualifications are offered and targeted at appropriate levels to include all pupils regardless of ability. The range of qualifications on offer and the number of partners involved in their delivery serves to engage as many pupils as possible both in terms of accredited qualifications and enrichment activities. All pupils have the opportunity to progress through the curriculum and be supported towards achieving established goals.

Pupils from Year 9 to 11 have to undertake the core subjects which are English, Maths, Science and ICT. All qualifications range from Entry level through to GCSE. PSD and RSE are also fixed on a pupil’s timetable. Pupils then choose their non-core subjects during an Options Evening each year. A list of the potential options can be found below:

List of options available to pupils: (Subject to recruitment)

• Sport: BTEC Entry Level 3 – GCSE
• Performing Arts: Entry Level 3 – Level 1 Certificate
• Art: BTEC Entry Level 3 – GCSE
• BTEC Health and Social Care: Entry Level 3 – Level 1 Certificate
• BTEC Travel and Tourism: Entry Level 3 – Level 1 Certificate
• BTEC Hospitality: Entry Level 3 – Level 1 Certificate
• Design Technology: Entry level – GCSE
• Photography
• DUKE OF EDINBURGH: Bronze and Silver
• Enrichment

Please click the buttons below to view timetables and planning for each class:

Rowling Class TimetableRowling Class PlanningRosen Class TimetableRosen Class PlanningTolkien Class TimetableTolkien Class Planning
Select language »