Foxfields Academy is part of C.I.T Academies
0116 344 0343

EYFS Curriculum

Foxfields Academy

Early Years Foundation Stage

Available from September 2021

Within our Early Years Foundation Stage Class, we aim to deliver a balanced educational curriculum in line with statutory guidance. The EYFS takes into account the individual needs of pupils and works to help them become confident, independent members of the community, able to communicate with adults and other pupils.
The areas of learning and development in EYFS are underpinned by the ‘Characteristics of Effective Learning’:
• Playing and exploring
• Active learning
• Creating and thinking critically
There are seven areas of learning and development that shape our learning at Foxfields.
Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting pupils’ curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive throughout their school career. These three areas are:
• Communication and Language
• Physical Development
• Personal, Social and Emotional Development
We also focus on planned activities to support pupils in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:
• Literacy
• Mathematics
• Understanding the World
• Expressive Arts and Design (EYFS 2012)
We develop all of these areas through both child initiated and adult initiated activities. The exploration of both the indoor and outdoor environments is an important aspect in aiding our pupil’s development in all areas.

CLICK HERE to view our EYFS Topic Grid.

Select language »